Grappling Game Plan 2012

Those who plan do better than those who do not plan, even though they rarely stick to their plan – Winston Churchill.  

While I didn’t plan on being deployed for half of 2011 I still could have used my time more efficiently.  Nevertheless I have found that actually writing out my training goals help keep me focused.  Below is my “Grappling Game Plan” for 2012. 

My Guiding Principles

I will always have a training objective when I spar.  I will continually work my weak areas and look at them as opportunities to expand my strengths. The goal of training is not to win but expand my skill-sets…training is not a competition.  I will always be humble…ego has no place in a learning environment and will hamper my progress.  I will train at least 3 times a week and improve my grappling fitness outside the gym at least 3 times a week.  I will continually develop a conservative game with the goal of applying the fundamentals at a high level.

Styles to Emulate: Kron Gracie, Saulo Ribeiro, Roger Gracie.

Long Term Goals: (1 to 5 years)
* Acheive Black Belt in BJJ within next 3 years.
* Be competent in both sport and self-defense aspects.
* Next milestone: Train in Brazil.

Intermediate Term Goals: (6 months to 1 year)
* Improve escapes from side control and rear mount.
* Expand arm bar from multiple positions.
* Improve guard recovery/retention against heavier opponents.
* Improve vale tudo / self defense skill-sets.

Short Term Goals: (1 to 6 months)
* Develop schedule to focus my weekly sparring goals.
* Devote one day a week to drilling systems & weak areas. 
* Develop my vale tudo guard.

Weak Areas:
* Finishing arm bar from top position
* Heavier opponents 
* Escapes

Strong Areas:
* Guard Passing
* Open Guard
* Sweeps


2 Responses to “Grappling Game Plan 2012”

  1. i remember when one of those goals was to achieve brown belt before the years end. everything you set out for, you achieve. cheering you on from afar.

Leave a Reply

